October Post: “Sonnet 29”

“Sonnet 29”

“When, in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes,

I all alone beweep my outcast state,

And trouble deaf heaven with my bootless cries,

And look upon myself, and curse my fate,

Wishing me like to one more rich in hope,

Featured like him, like him with friends possessed,

Desiring this man’s art and that man’s scope,

With what I most enjoy contented least;

Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising,

Haply I think on thee – and then my state,

Like to the lark at break of day arising

From sullen earth, sings hymns at heaven’s gate;

For thy sweet love rememb’red such wealth brings

That then I scorn to change my state with kings.”

William Shakespeare’s “Sonnet 29,” published in 1609 by Thomas Thorpe, is one of one hundred and fifty-four sonnets written by the Bard. This poem follows the traditional structure of Shakespeare’s sonnets: fourteen lines in iambic pentameter. 

The first eight lines conjure images of despair and loneliness, as the speaker is insecure and ashamed, wallowing in self-deprecation and thoughts of jealousy and wishing to be “..like to one more rich in hope,/ Featured like him, like him with friends possessed, / Desiring this man’s art and that man’s scope.” Suffering alone in his “outcast state,” he feels sorry for himself, curses his poor fortune, and yearns to be in the shoes of those luckier, more successful, more talented, and more popular than him. In the following lines, the speaker states that, “With what I most enjoy contented least;/ Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising.” If from the perspective of Shakespeare, the lines suggest that the activity he is least satisfied with that he used to enjoy most is playwriting, as perhaps after receiving criticism or coping with the pressures of being a very popular and sought-after playwright, Shakespeare felt particularly worthless and insignificant.  

The last five lines change the tone of the poem, as the speaker states that, “Haply I think on thee- and then my state,/ Like to the lark at break of day arising/ From sullen earth, sing hymns at heaven’s gate;” The imagery of a lark singing sweet melodies at daybreak and the sun rising represent the speaker’s mood being uplifted, as he compares the beauty of nature to the feeling he gets when he thinks of his partner. The love he feels for his unnamed lover brightens his mood, making the speaker happy to be himself once more and never wish to trade places with anyone, even a king, someone of envious status and wealth. The poem speaks to the power of love to change one’s mindset and perspective, as although the speaker’s life isn’t perfect, it’s all he needs and could want because his lover is a part of it. 

It is unclear whether Shakespeare is the intended speaker of this poem; however, if this is indeed Shakespeare, I can’t help but wonder: who is this lover? What event or events made Shakespeare feel so incompetent and unimportant? I find this poem,  in some ways, to be a testament of high school. Constantly compared to others in terms of academic and athletic ability as well as social standing, high school students can easily become overwhelmed and think less of themselves, which I have seen firsthand. However, the presence of a positive figure or influence in one’s life, in this case the speaker’s lover, completely changes the tone of the poem from one of extreme sadness and depression to a romantic and detailed declaration of love.  The speaker emphasizes finding one’s happy place, in this case thinking of his lover, to be transported from his gloomy state. 

Leave a comment